First of all, wheat flour is NOT gluten-free.
Secondly, barley flour is also NOT gluten-free.
It's been a while since I worked at a bakery where my co-workers purchased ordinary cake (wheat) flour for a bakery that serviced people with gluten intolerance. My apologies for getting into an argument with the supervisor over the less than delicate flavor.
Here's a list of flours that are gluten-free (see Bob's Red Mill)
chickpea (garbanzo bean) flour
All of these flours have an excellent flavor, although, each one is a bit different than the "bland, boring rice flour"...
Here's a list of binding agents
Various vegetable powders make for excellent flavors and colors